LA education

While on a trip early this week to Los Angeles, I had the good fortune to stay with Paul Robb, composer/producer and now my business partner.

One of the night we were hanging out at the end of the day at his home, he brought out a bottle of Vermouth.  Which I found very strange to drink solo, but this particular TYPE of Vermouth.  In this case it’s a classic Italian version that is MEANT to be sipped, rather than used as a mixer, as is common.

I’m always up for trying something completely new, and in this case Paul was pretty excited to share this experience, so it was all the more interesting.  And it’s very hard for me to TRULY explain what this tasted like, but the best, gut reaction tasting notes I can say would be exactly what I said to Paul the moment after I had it.

It was like drinking a Port that had been dragged through a garden.  It had a BIG, viscous attack at the front.  Fruity and syrupy, a lot like a Port.  But then it changed to a VERY green, vegetal, spicy mid-palate and finish.  It wasn’t medicinal, but it was one step shy of that on the after-taste.

I’m not sure it’s something I would drink regularly, however I really enjoyed this experience as something I’d never done before, and like MOST wine-drinking, or to be honest, life experiences, it’s better when it’s shared with a friend and a great conversation over the subject matter.

Leave a comment